Cumann Luachra

Faha – Classical school site at Annaghilymore
Eoghan Rua Ó Súilleabháin at the gate in Meentogues

Cumann Luachra (hereinafter referred to as the Cumann) is a historical society based in Gneeveguilla Co. Kerry in the heartland of the ancient SLIABH LUACHRA area (Sliabh leathan mhór lánaoibhinn Luachra – Fiannaíocht) It was founded in 1981 by a small group interested in local history and in particular because 1981 marked the 150th anniversary of the coming of the Cistercians to Rathmore.

The Cumann in its initial year identified as its main aims:

  1. to promote awareness of the social and cultural heritage of Sliabh Luachra
  2. to collect and publish in a journal named “Sliabh Luachra” aspects of this heritage.
  3. to commemorate local historical events and personages
  4. to liaise with other local history groups and initiations for the interchange of information and experience.



Patronage is open to anyone who subscribes to the aims of the Cumann and who pays the membership fee fixed by the Cumann. The current fee is €12 per publication of the Journal “Sliabh Luachra”.



Present membership – active members 14 plus 150 patrons.
Chairperson: Martin Murphy
Vice Chairperson:Pat Joe Brosnan
Hon. Secretary:Eileen Fleming
Treasurer:Pádraig Ó Duinnín
P.R.O. Editor:Donal Hickey
Committee:Jeremiah O’Leary
John Mangan
Seán S. Ó Súilleabháin
Christy Cronin
Timothy Lawlor
Con Hurley
Val Moynihan
Diarmaid O’Keeffe
Seán Ó Céilleachair
The Editor of Sliabh Luachra is Donal Hickey assisted by a subcommittee of 3 other members
Jerh O’Leary, Seán S. Ó Súilleabháin and Pádraig Ó Duinnín.
The President of Cumann Luachra is Dr. Kevin Cahill New York.